The SWC Forestry Awards 2016

The 2016 Forestry Awards was held on the evening of Friday 20 May 2016 at the Dunedin's Forsyth Barr Stadium. Like in 2015, this event was sold out.

Presenters and speakers at the awards programme included rural broadcaster Jamie MacKay from Newstalk ZB and Radio Sport’s show The Country. Also speaking was the Hon Jo Goodhew, Associate Minister for Primary Industries, Peter Gallagher, All Blacks Physiotherapist and High-Performance Sports Consultant, Stephanie Rotorangi, Principal Rural Fire Officer, Otago and local forestry companies.

Award Winners

Congratulations go to all the winners, the nominees, their employers and families. This year the SWC Forestry Awards went to:
AwardSponsored ByAward Winner
Training Excellence Award:
Apprentice of the YearSouthern Wood CouncilKeanu Falconer, Shane Griffin Logging
Forestry Trainee of the Year (harvesting)Rayonier/ Matariki ForestsWayde Lindsay, Shane Griffin Logging
Forestry Trainee of the Year (silviculture)Dynes TransportDarren Lundin, McHoull Contracting
Skilled Professionals Awards:
Forestry Excellence Award (establishment, silviculture, fire, harvesting) (Sponsored by ): Award Winner; South Wood ExportCraig Gamble, Gamble Forest Harvesting
Wood Processing Excellence AwardCompetenzPhillip Townshend, Niagara Sawmilling Co
Forest Products/Logistics/Transport/Port AwardUDCBlair Keelty of McNeill Drilling Company Ltd (Logging Division)
Industry Excellence Awards:
Forestry Environmental Management Excellence Award (Sponsored by ): Award Winner;Otago Regional CouncilGreg Kendall & Paul Hart of Ernslaw One
Training Company/Contractor of the YearCity ForestsJohnson Forestry Services
Forest Products Health & Safety AwardErnslaw OneGillion Logging
Tree Faller - Otago Southland:
Four new certificates for Professional Tree Faller Certification, a new scheme that has just been implemented in the Otago/Southland region were also awarded.